Sunday Morning Concert: Thomas Beijer solo

Sunday Morning Concert: Thomas Beijer solo

Symphony No. 4, Brahms and Zemlinsky

Recital Hall


Janáček - 1.X.1905 ‘Sonata’
Mahler - Ruhevoll, poco adagio (from ‘Symphony No. 4 in G’ (orch. T.A. Beijer))
Zemlinsky - Fantasien über Gedichte von Richard Dehmel, op. 9
Brahms - Vier Klavierstücke, op. 119
This concert has no intermission


Piano: Thomas Beijer

Thomas Beijer

In the Recital Hall this week, you will hear the 'other side' of Mahler: works for just a few musicians. In two Sunday Morning Concerts, these come together with those by contemporaries and friends. Today, Thomas Beijer plays a brand new work, his own arrangement of the serene slow movement from the Fourth Symphony.

Ruhevoll from Symphony No. 4

Thomas Beijer, winner of the Dutch Music Prize 2022, is a pianist as well as a composer. Moreover, he enjoys making arrangements of existing music to make it accessible to his instrument. In this Sunday Morning Concert, he performs his version of the 'Ruhevoll (poco adagio)' from the Fourth Symphony. In it, Mahler paints his picture of a peaceful journey from the earthly to the heavenly. A beautiful combination with Stimme des Abends by befriended composer Zemlinsky. This is one of the 4 Fantasien über Gedichte von Richard Dehmel that Beijer performs. Works by Brahms and Janáček will also be heard.