Piano Quartet in A Minor and Strauss' Metamorphosen

Piano Quartet in A Minor and Strauss' Metamorphosen

Amsterdam Sinfonietta Soloists and Severin van Eckardstein

Recital Hall

Tickets are available from €29.00


Wagner - Vorspiel (from 'Tristan und Isolde') (arr. S. Gürtler)
Mahler - Piano Quartet in A minor
Schnittke - Piano Quartet
R. Strauss - Metamorphosen, op. 142 (arr. R. Leopold)


Piano: Severin von Eckardstein
Amsterdam Sinfonietta Solisten
Violin: Candida Thompson
Violin: Jacobien Rozemond
Viola: Georgy Kovalev
Viola: Frederik Boits
Cello: Ivan Karizna
Cello: Örs Köszeghy
Double bass: Ying Lai Green

Amsterdam Sinfonietta Soloists with Severin von Eckardstein
Severin von Eckardstein has already appeared several times here in the Master Pianists series. Today he will accompany seven soloists from the Amsterdam Sinfonietta, including (of course!) concertmaster Candida Thompson. In recent concerts, Von Eckardstein’s ‘absolutely secure playing’ and ‘pure acrobatics’ impressed Dutch newspaper de Volkskrant. This afternoon you can enjoy hearing him play music by Mahler and Schnittke.

Mahler wrote his Piano Quartet in A Minor while still a student. It is very romantic for Mahler, even Schumann-esque – and he never finished it. Its first movement is complete, but the scherzo consists of only a few measures. These very measures inspired Schnittke to write his own Piano Quartet. The Amsterdam Sinfonietta Soloists will also play Metamorphosen by Richard Strauss, a lament for the culture destroyed by the Second World War. This gorgeous work was the basis for Sebastian Gürtler’s arrangement of Wagner’s Prelude from Tristan und Isolde for string sextet.